Tuesday, 26 April 2011

Glorious 1911

100 years ago today Bradford City won the FA Cup for the only time in the clubs history to date with a 1-0 win over Newcastle United in a replay. They were widely regarded as the best team in the country at the time as the FA Cup was held in higher regard than the league competition back then. So here is to the team of yesteryear! 

The team that day was:

Mark Mellors (GK)
Robert Campbell
David Taylor
George Robinson
Bob Torrance
Jimmy McDonald
Peter Logan
Jimmy Spiers (Scorer of the solitary goal)
Frank O'Rourke
Archie Devine
Frank Thompson

Willie Gildea also played in the first final but not in the replay.

They were managed by Peter O'Rourke

Bradford City Legends. 

No comments:

Post a Comment